Top of Page
Skip main navigation
Green hatchling

Sea Turtle Biology

Three of the seven species; the loggerhead (Caretta caretta), green (Chelonia mydas), and leatherback (Dermochelys coriacea) sea turtles nest on Broward County’s beaches, and two of these species; the hawksbill (Eretmochelys imbricata) and Kemp’s ridley (Lepidochlys kempi) are seen offshore. Click on the links below to learn more about our fellow four flippered friends!

SEA TURTLE SPECIES                                                          SEA TURTLE LIFE CYCLE
Leatherbacks Egg Incubation




Hawksbills Adults
Kemp’s Ridleys                                                       Migration and Breeding
Olive Ridleys Diet
Australian Flatbacks



Return to top of page